Menu Close

History of Cricket World Cup

12 play casino

Cricket is one of the most popular sports in the world, only second to football which is the reigning sport worldwide. Cricket is most popular in India and Commonwealth countries such as Australia and New Zealand. 

The Cricket World Cup is the top tier in the international competitions in the sport of cricket. After the qualifying round, ten teams will compete in various stages to the finals to determine the winning team. The tournament is always held in various host countries every four years and is also popular in online sports betting

We will discuss in this article the brief history of the Cricket World Cup.


Pre-World Cup 

Before the establishment of the Cricket World Cup, numerous events led to the creation of the world cup. 

In 1877, a test match was held between Australia and England. The sport is suggested to be included in the 1900 Summer Olympic Games where Great Britain won over France. However, the sport was dropped from the Olympics recognized sports roster by the International Olympic Committee. 

The first attempt to organize an international tournament for cricket was held in 1912 where England, Australia, and South Africa participated. The poor weather and lack of interest made the organizers not repeat the experiment. 

After the first attempt, only bilateral matches were held between two nations instead of a tournament involving multiple nations competing.

In England, one-day cricket was established in which four teams participated in a knock-out game and became successful.

The Prudential World Cup

The success of one-day cricket in England prompted the International Cricket Council to establish an international cricket competition. The game of cricket is also famous in online sportsbooks like 12play.

The very first Cricket World Cup was held in England in 1975. The initial three versions were named Prudential Cup because they were sponsored by Prudential PLC, a UK-based international insurance company.

Cricket matches lasted 60 overs per player and were played with traditional white uniforms and red balls. Matches were only held during the day, and the event occurs every four years.

England, New Zealand, India, East Africa, Australia, the West Indies, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka participated in the 1975 World Cup.

1987 to 1996

In 1983, Zimbabwe made its first appearance in the tournament while Canada was dropped out and replaced by East Africa. 

In 1987, the Cricket World Cup was the first match held outside England. It is also the first tournament where the West Indies were unable to reach the finals.

In the 1992 Cricket World Cup, New Zealand made some significant changes to the game of cricket. This includes colored clothing, white balls, and both day and night matches. 

Also in 1992, it is the first time South Africa was introduced to the cup, and the match has pertained as the match in which only 9 teams participated.

By 1996, the number of teams had risen to 12, thanks to the addition of three new teams from the United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands, and Kenya. During the 1999 Cricket World Cup, Bangladesh and Scotland were displaced by the UAE and the Netherlands.

1997 to Present

The 1999 Cricket World Cup set the return of the tournament to England after 16 years, where some of the matches were also held in Ireland, Scotland, and the Netherlands. 

By the 2007 Cricket World Cup, the event was held in the West Indies where it marked the competition to be hosted in all inhabited continents, four in Europe, two in Asia, one in Australasia, one in Africa, and one in America. 


Today, cricket is one of the most popular sports being played in the world, rivaling football in the most viewed and participated sports competition. Cricket has now garnered a million fans all over the world and the Cricket World Cup is one of the most expensive sporting events in the world and also popular in 12 play Singapore.